Putin declares martial law in occupied Donbas, Zaporizhzhia, and Kherson regions

Russian president Vladimir Putin imposed martial law in the so-called “DPR” and “LPR” (parts of the Ukrainian Donbas region), as well as in the partially occupied Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions. The decree comes into force from the day of its official publication.

Putin announced the signing of the relevant decree at a meeting of the Security Council. This was reported by the Russian media.

Putin introduces martial law in occupied Ukrainian regions

Russian Senator Andrei Klishas said that the Federation Council would consider the presidential decree on the introduction of martial law in certain regions “under its constitutional powers as soon as possible.”

Putin said that the actions of the “heads” of regions should correspond to the situation “in a particular subject of the federation”. According to Putin, the presidential decree will provide for several levels of response to security risks.

What is said in Putin’s decree?

  • “To introduce martial law in the territories of the “Donetsk People’s Republic”, “Luhansk People’s Republic'” Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions on October 20, 2022″;
  • “To the Government of the Russian Federation within 3 days to submit proposals on measures to be applied in the territories where martial law has been introduced”;
  • “If necessary, other measures provided for by the Federal Constitutional Law may be applied in the Russian Federation during the period of martial law”;
  • “This decree shall be immediately submitted for approval to the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation”;
  • “This decree shall enter into force from the date of its official publication”.
  • Martial law in the occupied territories provides for:
  • Prohibition of citizens to leave the country;
  • Evacuation of economic, social, and cultural facilities, as well as temporary resettlement of residents to safe areas;
  • Introduction of a special regime of entry and exit to the territory, as well as restrictions on freedom of movement;
  • Involvement of citizens in the performance of works for the needs of defense, elimination of the consequences of the use of weapons by the enemy, restoration of economic facilities;
  • Seizure of property necessary for defense needs from organizations and citizens with a further payment of its value by the state;

On September 30, dictator Vladimir Putin announced the annexation of the temporarily occupied territories – Kherson, Zaporizhzhia, Donetsk and Luhansk regions.

By another decree Putin introduced a medium level of response in the occupied Crimea, Krasnodar Territory, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Kursk, Rostov regions and the city of Sevastopol.

Putin also instructed to introduce a high alert regime in other territories of Russia’s constituent entities that are part of the Central Federal District and the Southern Federal District.

Read all articles by Insight News Media on Google News, subscribe and follow.
Scroll to Top