The Baltic States, Poland, Finland and Norway to create a “wall of drones”

The Baltic States, Poland, Finland and Norway have agreed to create a so-called drone wall to protect their borders.

This was announced by Lithuanian Interior Minister Agne Bilotaite after a meeting with counterparts from Latvia, Estonia, Poland, Finland, and Norway, which took place in Latvia on Friday, BNS reports.

“This is a completely new thing – an unmanned border from Norway to Poland, which will protect our border with the help of drones and other technologies,” the minister said.

Looking at the map, we see that this project covers the border between these six European countries and Russia.

According to Lithuanian Interior Minister Agne Bilotaite, this system will help protect against provocations from unfriendly countries and prevent smuggling.

“These are drones that allow us to monitor the situation from above and see much further than our surveillance systems can. But another part of the technology has also been introduced that will allow us to protect our countries and our borders from drones of other countries that aim to spy on our information, carry out provocations and organize smuggling,” Bilotaite added.

She added that Lithuania has already developed plans to strengthen its border protection with the help of drones. The Lithuanian State Border Guard Service recently created a UAV unit.

The meeting of interior ministers in Latvia on 23 and 24 May, which was also attended by Ukraine, is the second in this format, the first having taken place in Vilnius last year.

On May 9, Finland, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, and Poland signed an agreement in Vilnius that will strengthen the monitoring of EU sanctions against Russia.

Read all articles by Insight News Media on Google News, subscribe and follow.
Scroll to Top